top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel

Poor Man's Pudding (Pouding Chômeur) - Brown Sugar Version

Imagine a soft fluffy pancake-like cake covered in a delicious caramel-like sauce without having to bother with making caramel! The flavor profile changes depending on whether you use dark brown sugar (like me), or light brown sugar. If you love the stronger molasses flavor then dark brown sugar is the way to go! This French-Canadian dessert is not too difficult to make and creates its own delicious sauce you can drizzle all over it before you dive in. Compared to the maple-cream version this version is the true “Poor man’s pudding” in my opinion.


This post was originally published on June 18, 2023.

The recipe link (with photos) via Google docs:


A link? Why no recipe and photos on this page? Wix has put a cap on the amount of photos I can add as of spring 2023. I loved posting high quality photos to go along with my recipes, but without warning Wix has stopped me from doing that; hence my resorting to Google. So every recipe from now on will be linked to a Google doc in a similar format to my former recipe pages. I wish things hadn't changed, but even if I were to upgrade my Wix blog, there is no option that has enough space for my current (+ future) photo library. I apologize for the inconvenience on your part.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cinnamon Rolls (Gluten Free)

These cinnamon rolls blew me away, not only because the dough was rollable which is tricky with gluten free “breads”, but because they are probably the best cinnamon rolls I’ve ever had. Really. The f

Milk & Cream Bread

Soft fluffy delicious and pillowy bread! It is slightly rich and sweet and wonderful to eat on its own! This bread contains both milk and cream, which enhances the flavor and adds to the wonderful sof

Top the Tator

When you’re feeling the best potato chip dip nostalgia but you ain’t in the USA?!? Well this copycat recipe may not perfectly hit the mark, but it’s satisfying nonetheless. It is wonderfully tangy, cr

SUBSCRIBE VIA EMAIL

  • Black YouTube Icon

© 2023 by Salt & Pepper. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page